ADOPTED 2017



NAME: BELLE
BREED: Pointer/Lab mix
GENDER: Female (spayed)
AGE: Born 7/25/16
COLOR: Black on White w/black ticking
WEIGHT: 45#

BIO: Hi there, my name is Belle. I was surrendered to SCBR by my owners because I had turned out to be more of a puppy than they had planned on. I was purchased as a puppy to be a companion to their 9yro German Shorthair Pointer, but he tired of me very quickly. I had too much pep in my step and his battery ran down a lot quicker than mine did. It had been a while since my former owners raised a puppy and realized that their stamina was not as young and long-lasting as mine was. They gave it a lot of consideration and felt that re-homing me to another family with children and a younger dog would be best for everyone concerned. I do fantastic with other dogs, children and adults as well. I love to run and play. I am housetrained (I even ring a bell to let you know I need to go out), crate trained, UTD on all vaccinations, micro-chipped, heartworm negative and on heartworm preventative. I am a very loving and attentive dog that with the correct training can become a very valued member of your family. My only downfall, as far as my former owners are concerned, is that I like to chew things. I can “kill” and gut a stuffed toy in five seconds flat. BUT in my own defense, I am still a puppy and puppies do a lot of chewing out of boredom and frustration. I am at the perfect age that in addition to the endearing qualities I already have, I could really excel with additional training. I am not a real hyper dog and I mind very well. I do like going on walks and even though I have not been on many, I could use a little leash training. My foster Mom thinks I am a real treasure. SO if you are looking for the perfect companion to complete your family, look no farther – I am the girl. You must have a completely fenced and secure yard (not electric) in order to adopt me. I am currently being fostered in Almont, MI. Appears to be cat-friendly.

**UPDATE: Belle was adopted 4/12/17 by a very loving family in Royal Oak, MI.

NAME: GRIFFIN (Renamed Sonny Boy)
BREED: Bouvier des Flandres (AKC)
GENDER: Male
AGE: Born 12/4/09
COLOR: Fawn, docked tail, natural ears
WEIGHT: 83#

BIO: Hi there, my name is Griffin. I was surrendered to SCBR by my Mom with the hopes of me finding a new “forever home”. I was purchased from a breeder in Arkansas when I was four months old. I am AKC registered. My Mom was very active up until a couple of years ago. I was raised with cats and small dogs and all went well until a couple of years ago when I ended the life of one of her outdoor cats. From there, it progressed to my intolerance of her indoor cats and her very small indoor dogs. The rescue thinks that this might be due to the fact that up until a couple of years ago my former Mom used to take me to a class where a bunch of dogs, with their handlers, would sit and read to children and I loved it. I passed my “Canine Good Citizen” course and was used as a therapy dog. The rescue thinks I was probably lacking the attention and motivation that I had previously and was trying to remove all the other animals that I felt were infringing on my attention. I stopped going to read with the children because I began to show that I didn’t want to share their attention with the other dogs in the group. I get along fine with children and adults. While I was at SCBR’s facility, I showed no animosity towards any other animals, but I was still a little apprehensive of cats. I am UTD on all vaccinations, microchipped, heartworm negative and housetrained. I have no problem being crated or kenneled. I was so depressed that I would not eat anything for a week. They soon realized that I was so starved for affection and companionship that once I received it, I did a complete turnaround and began eating again. So if you are looking for a devoted companion – I just might be your guy. My foster Mom’s children began reading to me and it gave me a purpose to live again. I do walk well on a leash. You must have a completely fenced and secure yard (not electric or invisible) in order to adopt me. I must go to a home WITHOUT CATS. I am currently being fostered in Imlay City, MI. **UPDATE: I was adopted on 2/4/17 by a very loving and caring woman in W. Bloomfield, MI. My new Mom had recently and quite unexpectedly lost her beloved Sophie and was grieving terribly. At first she questioned whether or not she had made the right decision by “jumping in” and adopting so soon. After a lot of tears were shed we both realized that we were meant to be.

NAME: JASPER
BREED: Papillon
GENDER: Male (neutered)
AGE: Born 2/27/07
COLOR: Tri-color – White w/black & tan
WEIGHT: 10.4#

BIO: Hi there, my name is Jasper. Don’t let my pictures fool you, I am a purebred Papillon, but had to be shaved down a little when I was groomed in order to be squeaky clean for my vet appointment to be neutered. My Foster Mom says I am a GREAT little dog. I am very active and healthy. I am a real snuggler and I absolutely LOVE going for walks. I have quite a little prance and real pep in my step. I do play the “tough guy” with larger dogs or dogs that are exceptionally “nosey”. But as soon as I feel comfortable, I blend in well with everyone. I was surrendered to SCBR because my Dad passed away last December and my Mom had to move into a condo, where I was not allowed to stay. I am very adaptable to new situations, very loveable, a good eater and just a wonderful little dog (if I do say so myself)!!! So if you are looking for a little ball of fur to spend your lonely days and nights with, I am definitely your guy. I am just the right size to fit on all laps and am a very good listener. I am looking forward to a kind and loving fur-ever home that needs me as much as I need them. I really need a “stay at home Mom and/or Dad to call my own. I need a safe and secure environment without a lot of children and other animals wreaking havoc. I am house and crate trained and UTD on all vaccinations and micro-chipped w/lifetime registration. Although the rescue normally requires a completely fenced and secure yard (not electric or invisible) in order to adopt any of their rescues, consideration could possibly be made if I was always kept on leash when leaving my new home. The rescue is willing to adjust my adoption donation in order for me to find the right home. I am currently being fostered in Almont, MI.

**UPDATE: Jasper was adopted 4/7/17 by a very loving and caring family in Northville, MI. Here is a picture of Jasper with his new Forever Mom and his Papillon brother named Rico.

Back to the Main Page